Air Transport Community Forum

Welcome to Aviation Week's Air Transport Community Forum, designed to bring the global commercial aviation industry together to support the critical need for information exchange. 

 

Join us from March 22-26 for a range of digital content including webinars, industry leader podcasts, CEO interviews, news, photo and video galleries, data and forecast updates and a marketplace where buyers and suppliers can connect — as well as an association with major events or conferences.

March 22

Webinar: Fireside Chat with Jens Bischof, Eurowings Chairman and CEO

9:00 EST / 13:00 GMT / 14:00 CET

Germany-based Eurowings, the low-cost carrier brand of Lufthansa Group, is poised to launch a long-haul brand, Eurowings Discover. This and the airline’s view of how the leisure travel market recovery is shaping up—the challenges and opportunities—will be discussion points with Jens Bischof, a highly-respected and innovative executive with a strong track record at the Lufthansa Group. REGISTER HERE

 

Analysis: Government-Controlled Airlines

 

Gallery: Sustainability - Electric and Hydro Airliner Concepts

 

Video Interview: TIACA Air Cargo Forum President

 

Analysis: China Outlook

March 23

Analysis: Digital Health Systems and Health Passports

 

Gallery: The Boeing 737 MAX Return To Operation: Airline Liveries

 

Analysis: Sustainability: Status on Electric and Hydro-Electric Airliner Development

 

Gallery: Flight Simulators

March 24

Webinar: Fireside Chat with Dorothea von Boxberg, Lufthansa Cargo CEO

11:00 EST / 15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET

Lufthansa Cargo is one of the largest cargo airlines globally. The carrier, like much of the sector, is facing a complex set of circumstances in the COVID-19 pandemic, managing relatively high demand and scarce capacity. Navigating the airline through the crisis is at the top of Dorothea von Boxberg’s challenging agenda as she takes the CEO position on March 1. Von Boxberg has served as the airline’s Chief Commercial Officer since 2018 following senior roles in the group’s passenger airline division and at Star Alliance.

 

Beginning her career at Boston Consulting Group in 1999, Von Boxberg discusses the challenges Lufthansa Cargo and the industry faces with Jens Flottau, Aviation Week Network’s Executive Editor, Commercial Aviation. REGISTER HERE

 

Gallery: A History of Airline Startups: Those That Failed, Those That Survived

 

Video Interview: Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (DFW) CEO

 

Analysis: Cabin Designs

March 25

Webinar: Fireside Chat with Johan Lundgren, easyJet CEO & Incoming A4E Chair

11:15 EST / 15:15 GMT / 16:15 CET

UK-based low-cost carrier easyJet is a major force in European air travel. CEO Johan Lundgren will provide his insights into how the market has been re-shaped by the coronavirus pandemic and Brexit.

 

The discussion will take place on the day Lundgren also takes up the post of Airlines For Europe Chair, providing a platform for him to share viewpoints on industry-wide issues such as sustainability and carbon reduction and aviation taxation. REGISTER HERE

 

Gallery: How To Tell The Difference Between Similar Airliners

 

Analysis: Asia-Pacific Airline Fleet Restructuring

 

Gallery: Vaccine Air Transport

 

Analysis: CAPA Live CEO Interviews

March 26

Webinar: Fireside Chat with Carlos Munoz, Volotea CEO

6:00 EST / 10:00 GMT / 11:00 CET

Barcelona-headquartered Volotea is proof of the flexibility and adaptability of low-cost carriers that has served them well through the pandemic-driven downturn. Volotea, founded in 2012, has expanded its fleet to become an all-Airbus narrowbody operator and now serves some 90 European cities.

 

Co-founder and CEO Carlos Munoz is a recognized expert in LCC operations having founded Spanish budget carrier Vueling, now one of Europe’s largest LCCs, before turning to the creation of Volotea. REGISTER HERE

 

Analysis: SE Asia Outlook

 

Gallery: Airline Networks: Before and After

 

Analysis: Airline Network Schedule: Restoration and Outlook

 

Webinar: Fireside Chat with Alexandre De Juniac, IATA Director General

10:00 EST / 14:00 GMT / 15:00 CET

Under the leadership of CEO Alexandria de Juniac, IATA has led the charge to adapt the global airline industry to the devastating effects of the pandemic. De Juniac, a former Air France-KLM Group CEO, has worked tirelessly to persuade governments of the critical need for financial assistance and to adopt workable hygiene and border practices that can best enable air travel recovery. As he nears the end of his IATA term, he discusses the challenges ahead. REGISTER HERE