Space http://aviationweek.com/taxonomy/term/7365/more en Will Aerospace Companies Think Twice About Moving to Mexico? http://aviationweek.com/defense/will-aerospace-companies-think-twice-about-moving-mexico <div class="field-deck"> Can Donald Trump reverse the outsourcing trend? </div> <div class="node-body article-body">In this week’s Washington Outlook, outsourcing business seems suddenly unpopular, lawmakers ask for a flyoff between the F-35 and the A-10 and the head of Trump’s NASA transition team is named.</div> <p><a href="http://aviationweek.com/defense/will-aerospace-companies-think-twice-about-moving-mexico" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://aviationweek.com/defense/will-aerospace-companies-think-twice-about-moving-mexico#comments Washington Outlook Defense Space Washington Outlook AWST North America Fri, 02 Dec 2016 09:00:00 +0000 1549331 at http://aviationweek.com Drew Angerer/Getty Images U.S. Posturing To Protect Space Presence http://aviationweek.com/new-space/us-posturing-protect-space-presence <div class="field-deck"> U.S. has made big changes in its space posture </div> <div class="node-body article-body">With more outreach to commercial industry and international partners, the U.S. is expanding the ways it approaches defense.</div> <p><a href="http://aviationweek.com/new-space/us-posturing-protect-space-presence" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://aviationweek.com/new-space/us-posturing-protect-space-presence#comments New Space Space Space AWST North America Fri, 02 Dec 2016 09:00:00 +0000 1549051 at http://aviationweek.com Planet NASA’s Cautious Approach To Human Lunar Return http://aviationweek.com/space/nasa-s-cautious-approach-human-lunar-return <div class="node-body article-body">NASA has decided to ease humans back to the Moon in a free-return flyaround trajectory on the first flight of the Orion crew capsule with astronauts on board, instead of going directly to the lunar orbit where it plans to test hardware for human missions to Mars. </div> <p><a href="http://aviationweek.com/space/nasa-s-cautious-approach-human-lunar-return" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://aviationweek.com/space/nasa-s-cautious-approach-human-lunar-return#comments Space AW.com Programs North America Top Story - Home Space Top Stories Thu, 01 Dec 2016 20:33:00 +0000 1549081 at http://aviationweek.com Orion concept: ESA Space 2016 Photo Contest Finalists http://aviationweek.com/photo-contest/space-2016-photo-contest-finalists <div class="node-body gallery-body">Unique views along with exquisite timing helped to elevate these submissions to Aviation Week's 2016 Photo Contest </div> <p><a href="http://aviationweek.com/photo-contest/space-2016-photo-contest-finalists" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://aviationweek.com/photo-contest/space-2016-photo-contest-finalists#comments Photo Contest Space Thu, 01 Dec 2016 09:00:00 +0000 1548681 at http://aviationweek.com Alan Stern Learned Some Lessons En Route to Pluto http://aviationweek.com/space/alan-stern-learned-some-lessons-en-route-pluto <div class="field-deck"> ‘Commitment’ and ‘persistence’ produced New Horizons results </div> <div class="node-body article-body">The principal investigator for the New Horizons space program says that the volume of unexpected results generated will mean rewriting the textbooks on what is happening in the Kuiper Belt. </div> <p><a href="http://aviationweek.com/space/alan-stern-learned-some-lessons-en-route-pluto" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://aviationweek.com/space/alan-stern-learned-some-lessons-en-route-pluto#comments In Orbit Space In Orbit AWST Global North America Thu, 01 Dec 2016 09:00:00 +0000 1548491 at http://aviationweek.com NASA/JHUAPL/SWRI Ministerial Council To Decide On ESA’s €11 Billion Proposal http://aviationweek.com/space/ministerial-council-decide-esa-s-11-billion-proposal <div class="node-body article-body">ESA’s vision for Europe’s participation in space is expected to be bolstered by a vote of confidence and cash from the 22 member states that comprise the space agency.</div> <p><a href="http://aviationweek.com/space/ministerial-council-decide-esa-s-11-billion-proposal" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://aviationweek.com/space/ministerial-council-decide-esa-s-11-billion-proposal#comments Space Space AWST Europe Tue, 29 Nov 2016 09:00:00 +0000 1547331 at http://aviationweek.com How A Do-Nothing Congress Could Stall Key Defense Procurements http://aviationweek.com/defense/how-do-nothing-congress-could-stall-key-defense-procurements <div class="node-body article-body">In this week’s Washington Outlook: punting could limit number of KC-46A aircraft ordered this year; and a plan to send humans past Venus and Mars.</div> <p><a href="http://aviationweek.com/defense/how-do-nothing-congress-could-stall-key-defense-procurements" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://aviationweek.com/defense/how-do-nothing-congress-could-stall-key-defense-procurements#comments Washington Outlook Defense Space Washington Outlook AWST North America Fri, 25 Nov 2016 09:00:00 +0000 1546451 at http://aviationweek.com Boeing Technologies That Will Shape The Future http://aviationweek.com/future-leaders/technologies-will-shape-future <div class="node-body gallery-body">Technology developments will continue to transform every field of aerospace, just as they have the over the last 100 years.</div> <p><a href="http://aviationweek.com/future-leaders/technologies-will-shape-future" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://aviationweek.com/future-leaders/technologies-will-shape-future#comments A Century of Aviation Week Future Leaders Business Aviation Commercial Aviation Defense Space Technology Thu, 24 Nov 2016 09:42:00 +0000 1491461 at http://aviationweek.com ESA’s Mars Lander Crash Sparked By Bad Inertial Data http://aviationweek.com/space/esa-s-mars-lander-crash-sparked-bad-inertial-data <div class="node-body article-body">European Space Agency engineers believe they have found the root cause of the Oct. 19 crash of the Schiaparelli Mars lander.</div> <p><a href="http://aviationweek.com/space/esa-s-mars-lander-crash-sparked-bad-inertial-data" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://aviationweek.com/space/esa-s-mars-lander-crash-sparked-bad-inertial-data#comments Space AW.com Programs Europe Space Top Stories Wed, 23 Nov 2016 19:44:00 +0000 1546591 at http://aviationweek.com Schiaparelli: Gerbil NASA’s Mars Orbiter Points To New Martian Subsurface Ice Deposit http://aviationweek.com/space/nasa-s-mars-orbiter-points-new-martian-subsurface-ice-deposit <div class="node-body article-body">Researchers using radar data from NASA’s Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter have observed a subsurface ice deposit on the Red Planet that rivals the size of Lake Superior, the largest of the U.S. Great Lakes. </div> <p><a href="http://aviationweek.com/space/nasa-s-mars-orbiter-points-new-martian-subsurface-ice-deposit" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://aviationweek.com/space/nasa-s-mars-orbiter-points-new-martian-subsurface-ice-deposit#comments Space AW.com Technology North America Space Top Stories Wed, 23 Nov 2016 15:24:00 +0000 1546151 at http://aviationweek.com Mars: NASA