The European Space Agency (ESA) has set March 23 as the rescheduled date for the launch of the third Automated Transfer Vehicle, Edoardo Amaldi, on a five-month supply mission to the International Space Station.

The liftoff from the European spaceport in Kourou, French Guiana, atop an Ariane 5 is scheduled for 12:31 a.m. EDT (4:31 GMT).

Preparations leading to a March 9 liftoff were postponed on March 2. The delay permitted technicians to re-enter the cargo compartment to resecure cargo-transfer bags containing NASA food.

The ATV – carrying 7.2 tons of propellant, water, compressed air and other supplies – is scheduled to dock with the station’s Russian segment service module on March 28 at 6:34 p.m. EDT (22:34 GMT). The ATV will serve as a propulsion source for the station as well as a trash repository until its departure in late August.