Poland will formally become the 20th member of the European Space Agency tomorrow, ESA Director General Jean-Jacques Dordain announced at the ILA Berlin Air Show.

ESA Member States unanimously approved the accession of Poland to ESA on July 13, a move that required ratification by that country before full membership.

Poland has been a European Cooperating State since April 2007. More than 42 cooperative space projects are under way in Poland, with a total budget of EUR11 million.