Wanted: Nominees for Aviation Week's Laureate Award for Heroism


Know any heroes?

Every year Aviation Week presents our Laureate Awards and one of the awards is for heroism.

You can nominate a person or group online.

(Today is technically the last day to nominate, but there is a chance slightly late nominations will be accepted.)

As grist for your mill, here are the past winners:

2012: C-17 Globemaster III Aircrew Members of “Ice 68” from the 62nd and 446th Airlift Wings of the Joint Base Lewis-McChord, Wash., who performed a life-saving rescue of a government contractor from McMurdo Station, Antarctica

2011: Captain Daniel Aufdenblatten, Air Zermatt

2010: Richard Lehner, Swiss mountain guide

2009: U.S. Coast Guard HH-60 Jayhawk, HH-65 Dolphin, HC-130 Hercules rescue teams

2008: The British Royal Navy Sea King Helicopter Crew: Crew members include Lieutenant Commander Matt Shrimpton (RN), Royal Marine Captain Damien “Daisy” May, Lieutenant Tim Barker (RN), Petty Officer Aircrewman Julian “Bungi” Williams (RN), and Sergeant Mark White (RAF)

2007: USCG, Lcdr. Walter L. Horne, Lcdr. William R. Timmons, AMT3 Karl A. Schickle, and AST3 Jon E. Houlberg for a harrowing, life-saving HH-60J rescue (story includes link to video), conducted March 14, 2006

Please or Register to post comments.

What's Ares?

Aviation Week's defense blog

Blog Archive

Sponsored Introduction Continue on to (or wait seconds) ×